24
Dec
07

More Lights

Miniature lights behind Glass Block 
christmas-lights_0228-sm.jpg
I made this image in my studio by covering a table with black fabric and placing a string of small Christmas lights behind a glass block. (I got them from Lowe’s. They are the kind often used in basement windows and such.) I have a fascination for how these simple blocks of glass twist and contort light and images. I expect there will be more shots using these blocks in the future!
3 Responses to “More Lights”


  1. 1 Steven
    January 8, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    I love this shot. Very Nicely done.
    Can you tell me how you achieved the intense black background in you candle smoke picture?
    Steven

  2. January 9, 2008 at 1:31 am

    Thanks! The background in the candle and smoke photo was made using a black cloth background. I then added a 40 degree honeycomb grid on an Alien Bee strobe to keep light from spilling onto the background. My first attempts were done using a reflecting umbrella on the strobe, but too much light spilled onto the background. I was able to bring the background to deep black in Photoshop Elements, but doing so also took out some of the less dense parts of the smoke. The same effect I got could be done using an off-camera flash unit with a snoot.

  3. January 17, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    This would make a great blog header. I think I like the middle portion the most (if one were to crop it for a header, that is).


Leave a Reply

Categories


