14
Jan
08

Ghost Billiards

Ghost BIlliards

This was taken using a Canon 20D, using the on-camera flash. The flash captured “ghost images” of where the balls were at the split second it went off, and a slow shutter speed captured the movement of the balls after that.

11 Responses to “Ghost Billiards”


  1. January 15, 2008 at 10:20 am

    I had no idea you could do such things to an image without having to put it through Photoshop first… wow.

  2. January 15, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Pretty cook, eh? You gotta love the physics of light…

  3. January 15, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    My part in this image was totally easy.

    Step one: call a combination, 7-3-in the near corner.

    Step two: totally miss the shot.

    Please notice the track of the cueball passing in front of the 3, and the 7 tracking harmlessly behind.

    I tried this shot at least three times, and I don’t think I hit the 3 even once.

    I’m going back to watching TV, thank you very much…

  4. January 15, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    *snicker snicker snort* 😳

  5. January 16, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Pretty cook???
    Yes, you are!

  6. January 16, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Oh shoot… How about “pretty cooL”… Do I feel smart or what?

  7. January 17, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Do I get some credit for refraining from going all proofreadery on you? (I thought about it but didn’t want to distract from your genuinely beautiful photo.)

  8. January 17, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Aw shucks… I’m more than willing to be a victim of your word-nerdery anytime. 😉

  9. January 17, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Yet another reason I love this family. I might have needed to say something about the pretty cook if you hadn’t all gotten to it already. I guess that’s part of why you guys feel like family to me. I’ve come from a family of word-nerds, myself.

  10. January 17, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Isn’t it nice to have company on planet Word-Nerd? All these years we thought we were alone… do you suppose one of our families is actually from a parallel universe?

  11. January 19, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Yes, the company is quite welcome and delighted in. Planet word-nerd can begin to feel like a lonely planet… People speaking bad at you all the always… and not even know it. (Wow… I just made myself cringe.)

    The parallel universe thing might be true.


Leave a Reply

Categories


