18
Aug
08

Boat House Row

 

Philadelphia Boat House Row

I don’t think it’s possible to live in the Philadelphia area as a photographer without at least once making images of the famed Boat House Row. For anyone not familiar with the area, these are the “club houses” for rowing clubs on the Schuylkill River, just behind the Philadelphia Art Museum. This was the first time I’ve actually managed to get to where I could get a shot of them, so I was quite thrilled. I was somewhat disappointed in how this shot came out, because I would have liked to deepen the sky a little more with the polarizer. The problem with doing that was that it also took away the reflections on the surface of the water, making the river pretty unattractive.

This image was made with the Canon 20D, 18-55mm lense. I have some shots on film as well, and will post one or two once I run the film.

Leave a Reply

Categories


