19
Aug
08

Geese at Schuylkill River

This image was made on the Schuylkill River in front of Boat House Row. It was made with a Canon 20D and the 17-55mm lense. It was taken about noon, so the light wasn’t really optimum for shooting, but it still came out fairly well. I really like the way the diagonal for the small dam draws the viewer through the photo. I tried this from several different angels, but found this one most compelling.

1 Response to “Geese at Schuylkill River”


  1. August 20, 2008 at 9:13 am

    I really like this. The composition is solid and I think it’s cool that you seem to have captured not only the ripples, but what looks like a swell in the water – gives the photo lots of movement.

    The ridge of this dam extends probably at least 50 meters, and it was really amusing to see that the geese were lined up all along that edge, with their hineys a’hangin out in space. Perhaps I’d feel secure doing that too, if I knew I could avoid falling over the edge with a few flaps and a honk. When I flap and honk, I fall in anyway…


Leave a Reply

Categories


