25
Oct
08

The Clown

This is a first for this blog: a short photo essay. It was part of an assignment I had to complete for my recent “Night/Noir Photography” class. The point of the class was to learn about doing “film noir” style lighting. For the uninitiated, film noir was a style of movie making popular in the 40’s and 50’s which utilized harsh, high contrast lighting,and some really cool shadowing. That’s not the only thing that defined film noir, but it’s the only one that figures into the class I took. A famous example of film noir would be “The Maltese Falcon”.

The assignment was to make fake “movie stills” at a train station, at night. The first trick was to find a train station that wasn’t lit to where it might as well have been daylight. Once that was done, the rest just sort of fell into place. I got carried away with my assignment (no big surprise there!) and ended up with a set of “movie stills” that tells a complete, albeit short, story. Without further ado, I give you “The Clown”.

Waiting...

Hope

 

...and Waiting...

Hope Deferred

 

...Giving Up.

Heartsick

3 Responses to “The Clown”


  1. October 26, 2008 at 1:15 am

    THAT…… IS…… AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. October 26, 2008 at 3:05 am

    I was already expecting brilliance, and yet STILL flipped out when I saw these.

  3. October 26, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Why, thank you! Glad you guys approve. I kinda like it myself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories


