07
Apr
09

Calla Lily

I found a pot of calla lilies for sale at the grocery store the other day, and just couldn’t resist bringing them home (after paying for them, of course!) to play with in the studio. I was drawn to them because of the graceful curves of the flowers, as well as how nicely the purple of the flowers is off-set by the green leaves. Here is a small sampling of the shots I have taken so far:

Calla Lily

Calla Lily 2

Calla Lily 2

Calla Lily 3

Calla Lily 4

Calla Lily 4

Calla Lily 5

Calla Lily 5

Calla Lily 6

Calla Lily 6

8 Responses to “Calla Lily”


  1. April 8, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Oh my gosh, they’re beautiful! Every single one of them! Calla lilies DEFINITELY make the list of my top 5 favorite flowers. (Tulips obviously being my actual favorite.) I love these.

    #1, 4, and 5 are my favorite. 1 makes me see the flower differently and kind of makes me think of Fibonacci. 4 is probably my favorite. I want to see it on a wall. I love the focus and angle in 5. The transition from green to purple is really cool (not to mention the shape).

    These would look awesome in our hallway. 🙂 Maybe the ones with the green background on the opposite wall of the ones with a black background. Yep… I’m seeing it now. Beautiful. 🙂

  2. April 8, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Ah, thanks, Christine! You know, the prints for your hallway can be arranged. I can send them back with Amanda if you guys decide you want them.

    And speaking of tulips, you’re going to love the set of images I’m posting tomorrow. They’ll be up by the time you wake up tomorrow.

  3. April 8, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    By the way, I thought of fibonacci, as well. That was part of the reason I decided to shoot these the way I did. They’re beautiful flowers, but in an unconventional way. Roses and other flowers are beautiful because of the layers of petals and how they interact into intricate patterns. The calla lilies are beautiful, not because of their intricacies, but because of their almost minimalism. They really only have one petal that slopes and swoops in a way that is almost a motionless dance. If that makes sense.

  4. April 8, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    It does make sense. 🙂

    Yes, I love their minimalism. (Actually… that is one of the things I enjoy about tulips, too: their simplicity.)

    I am convinced that I want dark red calla lilies in my wedding. Made that decision one day while eating steak. So I’m pretty sure I’ll stick with it. It’s probably the only presently pre-determined element of my wedding.

  5. April 8, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Oh… & having prints would be awesome. Looking at the excess of doors in our hallway, I might have to adjust my initial layout, but I think they would be beautiful and I already have a tentative plan B.

    And… can’t wait to see the tulips! This will make getting up tomorrow even more exciting than usual!

  6. April 9, 2009 at 6:20 am

    You were right. I like number 4 best – it’s awesome!

  7. April 9, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Brian–You literalist, you!

  8. April 15, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    How marvelous.

    Outstanding photography!


Leave a Reply

Categories


