30
Jul
09

Nightfire Hibiscus

I’ve taken several trips to Longwood Gardens in Kennett Square, PA to make images of their amazing collection of hibiscus. While they are all stunning, my favorite variety is the Nightfire. I liked these images so much that they are the new artwork on our guest room walls. From this day forward, our guest room will be known as The Hibiscus Room. I know you can’t see it, but I’m giggling with delight!

This is a macro shot of the stamen of the hibiscus:

This is a maro shot water drops on of the center of the hibiscus flower, at the base of the stamen where the petals separate out:

And finally, here is a shot of a water drops on the edge of a hibiscus petal:

I think God is an amazing artist, don’t you?

6 Responses to “Nightfire Hibiscus”


  1. July 30, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    These are very happy pictures indeed. I bet they go great with the curtains!
    So, when do we get the doorplate engraved “Hybiscus Room”?

  2. July 30, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Oops, I guess I meant “Hibiscus”

  3. July 30, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    They don’t look bad with the walls, either… And yes, you did indeed misspell hibiscus. It’s a goofy word, and, lucky for you, I don’t consider it a deal-breaker! 🙂

  4. July 30, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Absolutely beautiful. They would look great hanging in just about anyone’s room.

  5. 5 Sarah
    August 18, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Wow, these are gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Categories


